What Is DuckDuckGo?

what is duckduckgo

Last Updated on

In recent months and years the world’s largest technology companies have attracted increasing levels of government scrutiny related to their ability to spy on users, track everyday activities, geographically follow people, and other issues related to individual level of privacy. This applies to Google, Facebook, Instagram, and many other companies. Facebook is attempting to create a new monetary system that it controls, and this is getting the attention of various governments around the world.

In fact, the Department of Justice recently highlighted plans for a broad antitrust review of what they term “Big Tech”. We don’t know what will come of this or if it is merely theater to assuage the public, but the facts are that big tech is under fire.

What Is DuckDuckGo?

DuckDuckGo is a search engine much like Google, Bing, Yahoo, and Yandex. DuckDuckGo does not yet use its own calculations and algos for search as it piggybacks on the APIs of existing search engines. The company launched on September 25, 2008.

DuckDuckGo is experiencing very rapid growth, although its market share overall is still quite small relative to Google. The search engine emphasizes privacy and the fact that it does not have to track user activity and behavior in order to make money.

Statistics show that in Q2 of 2019 DuckDuckGo was the only major search engine to see a growth in organic searches. Even google’s organic searches were down 8% overall. There is also lots of data mounting up indicating that about half of organic searches on Google end up as “no click searches”, meaning Google provided the answer in the SERPs or directed the user to a Google property. This has huge implications for publishers.

Will consumers move more towards the privacy first model espoused by DuckDuckGo? Time will tell, but the facts thus far show that DuckDuckGo is indeed growing.

Conversation Starters:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/conversation-starters

General Knowledge:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/general-knowledge 

Nature Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/nature-facts

World Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/world-facts

Science Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/science-facts 

Definitions: https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/definition 

Planets:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/facts-about-planets 

Nutrition Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/nutrition-facts 

Quotes:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/quotes

Things To Do:  https://www.seatsforeveryone.com/blog    

Sitemap:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/sitemap.xml

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *