Interesting Facts About Jaguars

facts about jaguars

Last Updated on

Interesting Facts About Jaguars

The Panthera onca, commonly known as the jaguar is the largest wildcat found in the Americas. Jaguars commonly reside in swamps, savannahs and rain forests. They can also be found in deserts and scrubs. Jaguars are distinguished from other wildcats by their dark spots. Their orange coats are marked with dark spots that look like roses and are known as rosettes.

Position in Cat Family

Although jaguars are the largest of the big cats in the South America region, it is the third largest in the world.

Territory

Jaguars are generally solitary animals. They mark their territory using their territory or by uniquely clawing trees. Their territories span between 80 and 90 km2. Males come together with females only during the mating season.

How Big Is A Jaguar?

A jaguar can be as long as six feet or so and weigh a bit over 200 pounds.

Jaws

The bite of a jaguar is very strong due to its very powerful jaw. A jaguar’s bite can pierce and average skull or even crack the shell of a sea turtle. Jaguars can jump int water and rip out and destroy crocodiles and alligators.

Reproduction

Breeding of jaguars occur all year round. The females bear up to four cubs after a gestation period of about 100 days. Once born, the cubs roam with the mother for two years after which they disperse.

Population

At best only about 15,000 jaguars are alive and well in the Americas. Thre are efforts to rescue and protect jaguars and more information is available here.

facts about jaguars

Climbing

Jaguars competently scale trees as they are very good climbers. They not only climb trees to rest but also as a hunting strategy. They stalk their unsuspecting prey from the trees after which they pounce on them to make their kill.

jaguar facts

Diet – What Do Jaguars Eat?

Like the other wild cats, jaguars are carnivores, meaning they feed primarily on meat. They feed on various animals ranging from deer to reptiles such as fish through to frogs.

Life

Typically, jaguars live for about 12 years.

Black Panthers

Although rare, there are melanistic jaguars that are black in color due to genetic mutation. The condition results in the fur and skin containing larger than normal dark pigment amounts.

Jaguars are so intriguing and powerful, that they even have fancy cars named after them and a NFL football team.

Conversation Starters:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/conversation-starters

General Knowledge:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/general-knowledge 

Nature Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/nature-facts

World Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/world-facts

Science Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/science-facts 

Definitions: https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/definition 

Planets:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/facts-about-planets 

Nutrition Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/nutrition-facts 

Quotes:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/quotes

Things To Do:  https://www.seatsforeveryone.com/blog    

Sitemap:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/sitemap.xml

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *