How Much Is Crab Blood Worth?

facts about horseshoe crab blood

Last Updated on

Interesting Facts About Horseshoe Crab

Blue Blood from a horseshoe crab is very expensive. It can fetch upwards of $60,000/gallon on the open market. Horseshoe crab have a compound in their blood called LAL – Limulus Amebocyte Lysate. This compound immediately binds and clots around viruses, endotoxins, and fungi. This makes it very, very valuable and a crucial component of the medical industry and medical device testing.

The horseshoe crab uses hemocyanin to carry oxygen through their blood. It is used to test for contamination during manufacturing. Harvesting these crabs off the east coast of America is very big business.

Conversation Starters:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/conversation-starters

General Knowledge:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/general-knowledge 

Nature Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/nature-facts

World Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/world-facts

Science Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/science-facts 

Definitions: https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/definition 

Planets:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/facts-about-planets 

Nutrition Facts:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/nutrition-facts 

Quotes:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/category/quotes

Things To Do:  https://www.seatsforeveryone.com/blog    

Sitemap:  https://www.interestingfacts.org/sitemap.xml 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *